top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAustin Pray

LIE vs TRUTH \ Ice Baths \ P&A

Updated: Oct 8, 2021

Ice baths are amazing for three reasons. Hot tubs are also amazing for relaxation. The reality of doing both of them is difficult, but you could probably at least alternate daily between a cold bath and a hot bath. Mind over matter.


Pros of Ice Baths, Reality, Pros of Both, Moderation



Three reason why I personally take ice baths / cold showers :


1st : Work on my Breathing Techniques

- When taking a cold shower I work on my box breathing (4 seconds in through my nose, 4 seconds hold, 4 seconds out breath through my mouth and 4 seconds hold x 4 times). Have you ever had a panic attack or an anxiety moment you couldn't control? well working on your breathing can help you calm down during these moments.


2nd : For Recovery

- Being sore in your 30's and having kids is so much worse than when I didn't have anything else to do than to rest. Picking up or chasing my kids with sore legs is the worst. I have found that taking a cold bath and soaking my legs helps me a lot. Just like you would ice a sprained ankle to reduce swelling, I believe the same techniques are worth doing after a hard day in the gym training.


3rd : To Wake Up

- Nothing wakes me up quicker than a shock to the system. My body and mind don't think about anything else at these moments beside my breathing and "survival".


Video Explanation to Recovery :

I do not have any affiliation with this video, but a great explanation of why we should do it.


So what do you prefer, Cold bath or a Hot tub?


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page